Seven new members elected to the Supervisory Board | News

Harvard alumni have elected seven members to the Board of Overseers, the university’s second-highest governing body, the university announced Thursday.

Newly elected members include Monica Bharel, senior adviser to the mayor of Boston; Sangu J. Delle ’10, CEO of Africa Health Holdings; Scott Mead ’77, a London-based photographer; Lauren Ancel Meyers ’95, professor at the University of Texas at Austin and director of the UT COVID-19 modeling consortium; Todd Y. Park ’94, co-founder and executive chairman of Devote Health; Vikas P. Sukhatme, Dean of Emory University School of Medicine; and Wilhemina “Mimi” Wright, U.S. District Judge for the District of Minnesota.

Five of the overseers were elected to six-year terms, the standard length of a term on the board. Bharel, who advises Boston Mayor Michelle Wu ’07, will complete the remaining four years of English teacher Tracy K. Smith’s tenure. Smith resigned from the board after joining the Harvard faculty last year.

Mead will serve on the board for only two years, completing the term of Yvette D. Roubideaux ’85, who also left the body last year.

Harvard Forward, a student and alumni campaign that promotes climate awareness and increased transparency on university boards, did not field any candidates for this year’s election cycle. Following the election of Indigenous activist Megan H. Red Shirt-Shaw in 2021, a total of four Harvard Forward-backed candidates won seats on the Board of Overseers.

Attorney Paul L. Choi ’86, who will serve as chairman of the Supervisory Board for the coming year, congratulated the new members in a statement Thursday.

“The Board benefits from a new addition of members each year, and we are fortunate to have such an impressive group of colleagues joining us,” he said. “I look forward to working with each of them over the coming year as we all do our part to help Harvard thrive in challenging but also exciting times.”

The University also announced six newly elected Harvard Alumni Association trustees on Thursday. The new directors include: Sofia Bahena, assistant professor at the University of Texas at San Antonio; Michael K. Bervell ’19, Head of Portfolio Development at Microsoft Venture Fund; Jyoti Jasrasaria ’12, partner at Elias Law Group; Cherie Lynn Ramirez, assistant professor at Simmons University; Corina Santangelo, fundraising manager at ChildFund Mexico; and Judith M. Williams ’91, strategist at human capital consulting firm Magic Deer.

Chosen from a slate of nine nominees, the new directors will serve three-year terms.

Denver-based landscape architect Allyson C. Mendenhall ’90, HAA’s new president, said in a statement Thursday that she believes the newly elected trustees will help advance a strong alumni network and spark positive changes.

“We all look forward to these dedicated volunteers joining our ongoing work – to ensure a vital and deeply connected alumni community and to support and empower the countless Harvard graduates around the world who are advancing positive change in the world. “, she said. .

Harvard degree holders cast a total of 31,383 ballots in the election for the board of supervisors and a total of 32,498 ballots in the election for HAA directorships.

—Editor Isabella B. Cho can be reached at [email protected] Follow her on Twitter @izbcho.

Previous Uvalde, Texas, grapples with grief as details of school shooting emerge
Next La Avenida complex subject to two design review proposals | Coronado City News