Modify the existing with sustainable systems


Every once in a while at Architecture & Design we are guilty of showcasing some of the most amazingly designed homes in our Projects section. We are certainly amazed at the intelligence and understanding of architects, the expertise they have and the ability they have to be able to reuse a home by creating a modification or addition. Considering the eclectic styles of our homes, especially in our cities, there are plenty of opportunities for reuse and revitalization, and we are most certainly in awe of an architect’s ability to take full advantage of this opportunity.

While writing about these particular projects sheds light on the results architects have achieved in modifying and adding to these homes, nothing really supports the process and products like receiving an award. The Modification / addition of a single dwelling category of the 2021 Sustainable Development Awards is undoubtedly the greatest opportunity to present the modification or extension of an existing dwelling, with prizes offered for the winner, as judged by the esteemed jury.

Stormtech is the proud sponsor of the Single Home Modification / Addition category for 2021. Providing premium drainage products and solutions for Australian homes since its inception, Stormtech firmly believes that sustainability is synonymous with sustainability. Their products are made with premium materials and meet the highest standards, to ensure they stand the test of time and remain a lasting part of the home. The company is a proud advocate of sustainability and offers a range of sustainable drainage solutions in its catalog, especially for those that may require modification or extension.

With the shortlist announced for the 2021 Sustainability Awards, we believe it is appropriate to share with you the nominees for the Single Dwelling Alteration / Addition category, sponsored by Stormtech. Please find them below.

Chelmer Flood House
JDA Company

Hamilton Court House

Alexandre Symes Architect

Small House Loft
Lighthouse architecture and science

Sol House
Anderson’s Architecture

Suburban shrine
Adapt the architecture

The 2021 Sustainability Awards will be night of nights for the built environment industry, and especially for those who aspire to embrace sustainable principles in their designs to ultimately shape the world around us. The Change / Add Single Accommodation category, along with the 12 other categories, will be announced on November 11 via a digital gala event. To book your ticket, go to and go there!


Previous Recommendations for the Altoona Board of Directors | News, Sports, Jobs
Next Washington Post reporter wins Ball State National Writing Award

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.